Home Page About Page Books Page News Page Extras Page Contact Page

facebookTwitterFollow me on BookBub

The Life She Was Given
The Life She Was Given

Coal River
Coal River -- Ellen Marie Wiseman

What She Left Behind
What She Left Behind -- Ellen Marie Wiseman

The Plum Tree
cover coming soon

View My Privacy Policy




Welcome to my website! I truly appreciate you stopping by and hope you’ll explore a little to learn more about me and my books. I’m Ellen Marie Wiseman and my debut novel, THE PLUM TREE, was released by Kensington Publishing Corp. in 2012. Inspired by my mother’s childhood in Nazi Germany, The Plum Tree follows a young, working-class German through the chaos of WWII as she struggles to save the love of her life, a Jewish man.

THE PLUM TREE received five-star reviews from Publisher’s Weekly, New York Journal of Books, Jewish Book World, and RT Book Review. It was a Books-A-Million Book Club Pick, a Top Pick in the RT Book Review Magazine January Issue, and a Kindle #1 Historical Fiction Bestseller on Amazon. Bookbub named THE PLUM TREE One of Thirteen Books To Read if You Loved ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE.

My second novel, WHAT SHE LEFT BEHIND, also released by Kensington, debuted at #189 on Amazon in 2013. Merging the past and present, WHAT SHE LEFT BEHIND follows a young museum worker as she discovers a decades old journal inside a shuttered state asylum and is compelled to piece together the journal owner's fate—with shocking and unexpected results. WHAT SHE LEFT BEHIND also received five-star reviews from New York Journal of Books and RT Book Review. It was named a Top Pick in the January issue of RT Book Review Magazine, one of Ten Best Books of Summer 2015 by the Huffington Post, and a Kindle Top #200 Bestseller for over two years. 

My third novel, COAL RIVER (2015), wascalled "one of the most "unputdownable" books of 2015" by The Historical Novel Review. It follows a young woman as she battles strikers and corrupt mine bosses to put an end to child labor in an early 20th-century Pennsylvania mining town.  

My fourth novel, THE LIFE SHE WAS GIVEN (2017) was chosen as a GREAT GROUP READS Selection of the Women’s National Book Association and National Reading Group Month, and a GOODREADS Best of the Month. Set during the depression, it follows a young girl whose mother keeps her hidden in the attic for the first ten years of her life before selling her to a circus sideshow. 

Thanks so much for stopping by!


Join Newsletter